Skip navigation

I took Monday off from work, giving me a three-day weekend to make some substantial progress on the battery barn.  And it was a perfect weekend, weather-wise!  The exterior siding was finally finished on Saturday, and the ceiling was put up on Sunday.  The attic insulation was blown-in Sunday evening and one-sixth of the wall insulation and panels were put in today.  We’re making headway!

For the ceiling, I rented a panel-lifter from the Home Depot.  This is a marvelous device that lifts ceiling panels into place and holds them there against the rafters until the nails/screws are in place.   At a mere $30/day, it was a bargain.  I also purchased 20 bags of blow-in insulation from HD, and they were kind enough to provide free use of a blower.  With Jordan feeding the machine and me on the business-end of the hose, it took less than an hour to stack the insulation 24-inches deep throughout the attic.

Next weekend we’ll finish the interior walls and at least get started painting the inside.  Then the excitement will start in earnest!  I’m really anxious to get started with the wiring!

Here are the pictures:

2 Comments

  1. Great progress…Can’t wait to see it. How you did all that I do not know. You are amazing. Love ya, Mom

  2. Impressive!!!


Leave a comment