Skip navigation

During the past few weeks we’ve been working to get the roof completed.  At first, I had planned to just cover the wood with roofing felt and leave the shingling (?) until after the exterior painting was complete.  That would make the masking job easier and prevent inadvertently getting paint on the shingles.  But a few days after getting the roofing felt up, the wind picked up and I spent a day at work worrying about what was happening to the roof.  I imagined going home and finding 1,000 staples with little black tufts of roofing felt stuck to the roof, and the rest gone with the wind!  The felt held up very well, though, but I didn’t want to go through all the worry and angst again.  So this weekend we finished the roof.  Jordan helped out and we were able to get the shingles up in two days.  The gambrel roof was a challenge, and not having a lift or scaffolding made it all the more difficult.  I ended up building a scaffolding of sorts that mounted to the side of the building.  With three levels, it made the steeper side of the roof a piece of cake. 

I don’t remember if this had been reported yet, but the inverters and related power panels arrived during the week.  I had the very good fortune of working with Alana at Fire Mountain Solar in the great State of Washington to procure the electrical amenities.  Prompt, courteous, professional, fair, knowledgeable and connected to the right suppliers, all of these things describe the folks at FMS.  In just a matter of days, the equipment was sitting on my driveway.  Needless to say, they will be the first company I go to when I order the next inverter!

So all the major pieces are here.  I’m anxious to start getting on with the electrical side of this project, but the construction work has to come first.  I’m guessing it will be another month before the wiring begins.  Next week we’ll get the building wrapped, the windows and door installed and start putting the siding up.  Then comes painting and the interior work (insulation, ceiling and walls, battery box, etc.)  It never ends!  In the meantime, my house looks like the debris field from a bombed-out power plant!  Wire, fixtures, switches, controllers everywhere.  I even have the tail for the turbine in the study!  (It is very big!) 

Here are the pictures…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a comment